ASP Web Pro

Ex-Chief McDermott & 50 Year Members Honored at Annual  Installation Dinner

Story and Photos by Ex-Captain Steve Grogan

On Friday evening May 20, 2016, the Lynbrook Fire Department held their Annual Installation and Testimonial Dinner honoring outgoing Chief James McDermott.  The event was held at Carlyle on the Green in Bethpage.  Also honored were three members of the department who have served 50 years:  Ex-Chief and Honorary Commissioner Frank Abrams, Honorary Chief Charles Aresta, and Honorary Chief Charles Myers.  In addiition, Chief John Chavatte, Second Assistant Chief William Abrams, and Ex-Capt. James Deliver were recognized for 25 years of service.  During the evening Lynbrook Mayor William Hendrick swore in Chief Chavatte along with his three assistants, Carl Lengel, William Abrams, and Nick Pearsall.  Chief Chavatte then swore in the department officers, the junior officers, and the Ladies Auxiliary.  Ex-Chief McDermott presented Ex-Captain's badges to the outgoing department captains and the past Junior captain.  Mayor Hendrick presented an Ex-Chief's badge (for the second time) to Ex-Chief McDermott and Ex-Chief McDermott presented last year's parade trophy to the officers of Engine Company.  Truck's officers even performed a song to the outgoing chief.  And, Kathy Festa, President of the LadiesAuxiliary made a presentation to Chief Chavatte and the department.

Ex-Chiefs Kevin Bien and Robert Cribbin were named by Ex-Chief McDermott as Firefighters of the Year.

Ex-Chief Michael Anderson served as MC for the dinner. The Dinner Committee includes Ex-Captain PJ Curran, Firefighter Mike Kostyra, Ex-Captain William Dauscher, Firefighter Vanessa Kostyra, Second Lieutenant Kaitlin Curran, Firefighter AJ LaBarca, and Firefighter Carl Lengel Jr.

Bookmark and Share




Copyright © 2016 Lynbrook Fire Department. All rights reserved.


Your internet consultant